(Subclass 189 & 190 Visas) General Skilled Migration Visa

A General Skilled Migration Visa is for applicants who want to apply for Permanent migration to Australia based on their skills, education, work experience, age, qualifications etc. You do not have to have an employer or job offer to apply for this visa. Your partner and dependents can accompany you on this visa. You must be less than 50 years of age. You must also meet character, health and public interest criteria for this visa.

Applicants must be invited to apply for this visa after lodging an Expression of Interest (EOI) with the Department of Immigration and Border Protection through Skills Select.

To be eligible for an offer through Skill Select you must meet the following requirements:

  • Your skills have been assessed for your nominated occupation by a relevant Skills Assessment Authority in an occupation on the Skilled Occupation List.
  • You have Competent English language ability (IELTS 6)
  • You have at least 60 Points on the Points Test

Skill Select is the way the Department selects people based on merit to invite them to make a visa application. It is a points based system whereby candidates are awarded points for such things as their; age, qualifications, work experience etc.


Points Test

You must score at least 60 on the points test to be eligible to be offered an invitation to apply for a visa. Click here to download the points test document.

As you will see from the points system you are awarded points for:

  • Age
  • English Language Ability
  • Qualifications
  • Australian Work Experience in your nominated (or closely related) occupation
  • Overseas Work Experience in your nominated (or closely related) occupation
  • Qualifications
  • NAATI Accredited Translator/Interpreter at the Paraprofessional level or above
  • Partners Skills
  • Study in regional Australia or in a low population growth metropolitan area
  • 2 Years Study in Australia
  • The completion of a Professional Year
  • State or Territory Sponsorship

NAATI Accreditation – Credentialed Community Language

You are awarded an extra 5 points under the points system if you are accredited as an Interpreter or Translator with NATTI in a Credentialed Community Language at the Paraprofessional level or above.

Please click here for accreditation criteria. http://www.naati.com.au/accreditation.html

Professional Year

The completion of a Professional Year will enable you to gain an extra 5 points under the points system.

The professional year incorporates formal learning and workplace experience components in a structured environment to better prepare migrants to enter the Australian workplace and perform in your occupation. Your professional year must have been undertaken for a period of at least 12 months and be in either your nominated occupation or a closely related occupation.

The following are the specified Professional Year Programs:


CPA Australia http://www.cpaaustralia.com.au/become-a-cpa/migration-assessment/skilled-migration-internship-program-accounting

Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia http://www.charteredaccountants.com.au/The-Institute/Migration-assessment/Skilled-Migration-Internship-Program.aspx

Computer Science

Australian Computer Society http://www.acs.org.au/migration-skills-assessment/professional-year-program


Engineers Australia http://www.eeaust.com.au/professionalyear.html

State or Territory Sponsorship

You can gain an extra 5 points if you can meet the criteria for State Sponsorship. Each state has differing criteria for their sponsorship. The relevant state authorities administering state sponsorship and their criteria are outlined on their individual website:

NSW http://www.business.nsw.gov.au/live-and-work-in-nsw/visa-and-migration/skilled-sponsored-migration

QLD http://migration.qld.gov.au/skilled-migration-visas/skilled-nominated-subclass-190-visa/

VIC http://www.liveinvictoria.vic.gov.au/visas-and-immigrating/occupation-lists

SA https://www.migration.sa.gov.au/snol

WA http://www.migration.wa.gov.au/skilledmigration/Pages/AboutStateSponsorship.aspx

NT http://www.migration.nt.gov.au/visa/sol.html

ACT http://www.canberrayourfuture.com.au/portal/migrating/article/act-occupation-list/

Skills Assessment

Your Skills Assessment Authority is outlined on the Skilled Occupation List next to your occupation.

Each Skills Assessment Authority has different criteria and each occupation has different criteria. Generally speaking you will be required to have at least three to five years of post-qualification experience depending on your nominated occupation. In addition, some occupations require a higher standard of English and/or registration.

A list of Skills Assessment Authorities contact details is available here


Service Fees
Professional Fees – Skills Select (Expression Of Interest) $ 990
Professional Fees – Visa Application $ 2500
Application Fees – 189/190 Visa $ 3600